

# Council Meeting Agenda

18 May 2015





# **SUMMONS**

To All Members of the Council

You are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the District Council to be held in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, APPLETREE COURT, LYNDHURST on Monday, 18 May 2015, at 6.30 pm

Dave Yates Chief Executive

Appletree Court, Lyndhurst, Hampshire. SO43 7PA www.newforest.gov.uk

This Agenda is also available on audio tape, in Braille, large print and digital format

# AGENDA

# Apologies

#### 1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

To elect a Chairman of the Council to hold office until the annual meeting in 2016.

Cllr Mrs Hoare has been nominated as Chairman for the ensuing year.

Declaration of acceptance of office by the Chairman and investiture of badges of office

The newly elected Chairman in the Chair.

Vote of thanks to Cllr Mrs Holding and presentation of badges.

### 2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council to hold office until the annual meeting in 2016.

Cllr G C Beck has been nominated as Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

# Declaration of acceptance of office by the Vice-Chairman and investiture of badges of office.

# 3. APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

To appoint a Leader of the Council for the four year period until May 2019.

#### 4. MINUTES (PAPER A) (Pages 1 - 8)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 13 April 2015 as a correct record.

# 5. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

#### 6. LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

#### 7. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY LEADER, NUMBER AND CONTENT OF PORTFOLIOS AND APPOINTMENT OF PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

The Leader of the Council will inform the Council of:

- (a) the name of the councillor he has appointed Deputy Leader of the Council;
- (b) the number and content of the Portfolios;
- (c) the name of the councillor he has appointed to each Portfolio; and

#### **RECOMMENDED:**

That the Head of Legal and Democratic Services be authorised to make any consequential changes to the Constitution arising from the above.

#### 8. **REPORT OF THE RETURNING OFFICER (REPORT B)** (Pages 9 - 24)

To receive the report of the Returning Officer on the elections held on Thursday 7 May 2015.

# 9. POLITICAL REPRESENTATION ON COMMITTEES

In accordance with Section 15(1)(b) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Council must review the representation of political groups on committees at the annual meeting each year or as soon as practicable thereafter. For this purpose, "committees" includes the Council's Overview & Scrutiny Panels but excludes the Cabinet.

The Act prescribes, amongst other things, that -

- (a) the majority of seats on committees must be allocated to the majority political group; and
- (b) subject to (a) above, the number of seats on committees allocated to each political group must bear the same proportion as the total of the membership of that group to the membership of the authority.

These provisions need not be applied if a different position is agreed without any member of the authority voting against.

Following the ordinary election of Councillors on 7 May 2015, the political proportionality on the Council is:

Conservative: 58 Liberal Democrat: 2

There are 101 Committee/Panel places to which appointments should be made under the principles of proportionality. Of these, 98 should be allocated to the Conservative Group and 3 to the Liberal Democrat Group.

Recommendations for the appointment of members to Committees and Panels to comply with the principles of proportionality will be circulated later for consideration under item 10 of this agenda.

#### **RECOMMENDED:**

That appointments be made to committees and panels in accordance with the principles for the allocation of seats to political parties as set out in Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, except in those cases where it is decided, without any member voting against, not to apply the principles of proportionality.

#### 10. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS (REPORT C) (TO FOLLOW)

To appoint members to the Committees and Panels set out in Report C, as proposed by the political groups, for the four year period commencing 18 May 2015.

# 11. ANY OTHER ITEMS WHICH THE CHAIRMAN DECIDES ARE URGENT